Absolute Beginner!

Good morning all, my company has just begun the task of implementation. None of us have any coding experience, but of course the owners want the configurator to save the day. I guess my question is…where should I begin? I’ve played a little in our educational environment, but I’m at a lose. i’M’m looking for some direction, do we ensure that our BOMs are correct first? Do we all need to take some type of coding courses…etc? HELP!!!

Where do you plan on running the configurator? from the Quote entry or Job?
If from the Quote,
What are you wanting to get out of the configurator? A full BOM or just a price?

I agree with @Craig, I think a priority would be determining what you want the output to be. Configurators can pretty much do anything with the right inputs, and coding. I think they are only limited by imagination. That being said until you know where you want to end up will just be spinning your wheels.

First of all, thanks for the speedy response. We’ve decided to run it from Quote Entry. We want the complete BOM, with BOOs and MOMs.

Then definitely start with having your BOMs be correct. you can build the configurator to build your bom based on question you would answer (ie. options on equipment) but you need to know what the answer will do to the BOM.

The Tech Ref Guide (all 400+ pages of it), is going to be essential.

The very first thing to decide is whether you are going to go with a Super BOM or a Dynamic BOM (those terms might not exactly match what they’re called in the Tech Ref guide).

A Super BOM is a BOM that consists of every single component that could ever go into the configured part. Then the configurator simple “disables” parts based on rules you setup.

For example, a Super BOM for a configurable extension cord might look like:

Mtl Seq  Partnum   Qty
10       Plug      1
20       Socket    1
30       Wire-16GA 100
40       Wire-14GA 100
50       Wire-12GA 100

Only one of Mtl Seq’s 30, 40, and 50, would be left enabled