BPM to compare from other tables

I suggest looking up samples/tutorials of using LINQ.  LINQ would be able to query any table you want as long as you have the correct where clauses available. I do not believe there is a way to avoid using LINQ and C# for this bpm.  Basically you would query the tables using linq, possibly use descending/firstordefault on the date to get the last, assign variables with the column results and base the messages on the variable.
So I need some introductory help in creating a BPM.

Background:
1. version: E10.0
2. I do not know how to write C# code, although I can muddle my way through looking at a piece and guessing what it's trying to do.
3. This is my first time attempting to create a BPM other than the following along of the training packet.
4. I know how to write queries using the built in editor function of epicor.

So here's what I am attempting to do.

Upon approval of revision in the engineering workbench I want a warning box or a stoppage to pop up if 1 of these two conditions are not met.
1. The last operation is not backflush and the part is not set to phantom BOM.
2. The last condition is set to backflush, and the part is set to phantom BOM.

Any other condition besides that and I want to create a box that says you have an error. I can work out the verbage later.

Here's what I have so far.
I ran the trace while approving the revision in the engineering workbench. I used the BO EngWorkbench with ChangeECORevApproved. I used a pre-processing BPM.

No problems up to this point.

My first roadblock is, how to I run a condition against something not in the temporary tables from the ECOrev? I'm guessing that I have to run some custom code in the condition to run a query against the database. Can I get that code from a query built with the BAQ editor? or is that going to be very different? Or is there an easier way already programmed into the BPM designer?

Thanks,
Brandon