BPM's in Different Environments

Hey Vic,
This is one of the reasons we have our test environment on VMWare.
I believe you can use VMWare very cheaply on small non-production scale, if you wanted to go that route.

--- On Tue, 11/8/11, Vic Drecchio <vic.drecchio@...> wrote:

Subject: [Vantage] BPM's in Different Environments
To: vantage@yahoogroups.com
Date: Tuesday, November 8, 2011, 3:07 PM

Â

(Vantage 8.03.409C Progress)

I’m very new to BPMs. For every time I get excited about them, there’s something that makes me shake my head.

If I’m in the TEST environment and create a BPM on a certain BO and method, it seems that if I have the LIVE environment with the same BPMs... and I change something in TEST it effects the LIVE environment?

I called Epicor support and they verified that this is true in Vantage (not in E9).

I’m just curious on what everyone does to build and tweak BPMs in different environments.

I got a “Deadloop has been resolved” error this morning on one of my LIVE BPMs that I am *certain* was working 100% OK on Friday. Yesterday I changed things in TEST on that same BPM and it screwed up LIVE’s BPM... which resulted in that “Deadloop has been resolved” issue (even though I have the “Prevent Loops” checked).

So, I have a good, working BPM in LIVE. I restore LIVE to TEST. I make changes to the BPM in TEST and it effects the same BPM in LIVE.... wow. Am I doing something wrong and/or is Epicor support wrong?

TIA.

Vic

[Non-text portions of this message have been removed]

I’m very new to BPMs. For every time I get excited about them, there’s something that makes me shake my head.

If I’m in the TEST environment and create a BPM on a certain BO and method, it seems that if I have the LIVE environment with the same BPMs... and I change something in TEST it effects the LIVE environment?

I called Epicor support and they verified that this is true in Vantage (not in E9).