Configurator - Update MOM upon receiving data from external calculations

Hi all,

Really glad to be here.

First post on the forum, even though I read pretty much every thread on Configurator/C# implementation!

Bear with me, I am new to pretty much everything related to C# programming and Epicor BPM/Configurator, which is why I am reaching to you guys for help. Also, this is going to be a long post…

Let me explain my situation:

We are currently using an automation software called DriveWorks (add-on for SolidWorks) to generate drawings for our different lines of products. It works on the same principle as Epicor’s product configurator.
You fill a form with your requirements, release the drawing request, DriveWorks execute calculations for dimensions, material, etc. It also produces the 3D and 2D models plus a PDF file for the customer to sign.

DriveWorks currently contains all the required logic to create the model, which means it also have the information to create the method of manufacturing. I would really like to avoid having to duplicate the logic part in Epicor.

My plan would be the following:

1. Fill the form through Epicor product configurator in the quote entry. No configurator/document rules would be executed at this step as the required information is not yet available. (I know how to do this)

2. Write the configurator input in a table which would be shared with DriveWorks. (I know how to do this)

3. Let DriveWorks do the calculations upon seeing new data in the table. DriveWorks has functionnalities to launch a drawing generation upon receiving an XML file (folder watcher) or seeing new data in a database. (I know how to do this)

4. Return the data required to generate the MOM in the same table. (I know how to do this)