Days between two dates based on calendar

Early disclaimer... I am not a programmer. I have successfully (so far) snowed everyone I work with here, but make no claims amongst a group of actual professionals.

That said, could you create in ABL logic similar to:

NumberOfDays = EndDate - StartDate

Loop: for each ProdCalDay where ProdCalDay.ModifiedDay > StartDate AND ProdCalDay.ModifiedDay < EndDate

if ProdCalDay.WorkingDay = FALSE then OffDays = OffDays +1

CalculatedDays = NumberOfDays - OffDays

If this provides you with nothing but a good laugh, then my day is also complete...

Ernie Lowell

Diba Industries

---In vantage@yahoogroups.com, <vantage@yahoogroups.com> wrote:

I understand how to set up Calendars.  My challenge is how do I figure out the number of work days based on a calendar between two dates.

Example:  “ PORel.PromiseDt – TODAY “ gives me the number of days until the promise date.

If needed, I could calculate the number of weeks between days, take into account what day of the week it is now, and could eventually get to the number of workdays.   A glorified version of “ PORel.PromiseDt – TODAY – trunc ((PORel.PromiseDt – TODAY) / 7 * 2) is a good approximation of the number of weekdays between the two days.

I just don’t know if anyone has some way of taking into account a calendar.

Thanks again.

From: vantage@yahoogroups.com [mailto:vantage@yahoogroups.com] On Behalf Of gracefulthreads@...
Sent: Thursday, October 24, 2013 8:31 AM
To: vantage@yahoogroups.com
Subject: [Vantage] RE: Days between two dates based on calendar

Kevin,

Use the Production Calendar to set weekends and holidays as non-work days (if your company default production calendar shows weekends as WORKING days, just create a second one). I'm doing that in a couple of BPMs to reset Sales Order and Purchase Order dates... it will be a little hairier in a BAQ but should be doable.

Ernie Lowell

Diba Industries