EpiButton on a Dashboard

I really didn’t want to make a whole new post about this, but I couldn’t get the private message to send…

I want to put an EpiButton on a dashboard in the tracker view that when you click it, it displays a message.

So basically I’ll name the button “Tips”, users will click it and a message will popup with all the tips for the dashboard.

I tried digging through the Google results but I couldn’t find one that would help with this. I might’ve found one that could help back in 2008, but it’s all in VB which I have zero experience with… I have a tiny bit more experience with C# :slight_smile:

Any help/insight would be greatly appreciated,
Thank you

Caleb

Check out this post, it has more information than you need, but I think if you take that basic code and strip out all of the extra stuff and hardcode your message into the message box, you can get it to work. It’s not formatted nicely, but it should be able to serve your purpose. You will have to do this is an assembly dashboard (you have to deploy it) and then customize that to get this to work. (I’m pretty sure.) I’m sure @Chris_Conn will come by and show you how.

MessageBox.Show("CSV: " + myCSV);
	source[0] = myCSV;
	System.IO.File.WriteAllLines(to,source);

So probably something like this.

MessageBox.Show("type your tips here");

Plus all of the per-requisite stuff with the button.

2 Likes

Thanks for the link. I’ll check it all out and report back once I give it a few tries

I’m going to be leaving the office for the day shortly…

But I tried customizing the deployed dashboard and added

private void BtnInfoClick(object sender, EventArgs e)
{
MessageBox.Show(“Test”);
}

And then saved that.

Then I went to Dashboard and pulled up that dashboard ID and put an Event on that button that does:

private static void btnInfo_Click(object sender, System.EventArgs args)
{
BtnInfoClick();
}

It feels like I’m missing something… Or just doing it completely wrong