How to add date to UD field triggered by a checkbox

Hello,

I am trying to get the current date to go to a UD field when a box is checked and saved.
What I tried was a Data Directive - In-Transaction on table: FSCallhd.
I added a condition of: ‘ttFSCallhd.Approved_c field has been changed from false to true’.
I then did an ‘Execute Custom Code’ with this in it:

foreach (var x in (from y in Db.FSCallhd
where y.Company == Session.CompanyID
select y))
{
x.Approved_Date_c = DateTime.Now;
}

I realize that I need to narrow it down in the where statement but I have no idea what to put there.

I would think something like: && y.CallNum == ???
??? should be some way to access the current CallNum.

I am still learning Custom Code as you can tell and would appreciate if someone could fill in the blank.
And maybe explain how you found it for my continuing education???

I really appreciate this site. It has been wonderful for helping.
Thanks,
Shawn

The loop you have is going to update all records and I assume you are only looking to update the current record where the checkbox was checked? You should be looping through ttFSCallHd and setting the field.

I understand that it will update all records for that company, I am not sure how to get it to update the specific record that called it. Do you have any specific ideas?

there is a ttFSCallhd table available in the DD that contains the current record you are working on, you should be able to join to that record. Further more, if this is happening in an In-Tran directive you can do this without writing any code.
Simply use the Set Field option
If you want to better understand BPMs and such I recommend a full and thorough read of the Customization Guide, the ICE Tools Guide and the Programmers Guide all available in EpicWeb

1 Like

By using ttFSCallHd instead of Db.FSCallhd will update only the record that initiated the call. You would not need to use custom code for this as well unless you had other reasons.

Well,