Job Creation Process Optimization

Hello, I would like to state that I am new to Epicor and am not sure what is within the realm of possibility. I also do not personally have access to modify modules/reports, but can put in tickets to my IT Manager. We also have the option to bring in a consultant if needed.

I would like to optimize the current job creation process, which currently takes approximately 5 minutes per job created. As our company increases the volume of orders received (and thus jobs that need to be created) to thousands per product line, this will quickly become an overwhelming process. Creating 1000 jobs would take over 10.5 days of straight manual Epicor work. This is frankly ridiculous, and I truly feel there is potential for optimization to be done here.

The current process for job creation:

1. A serial number needs to be created using Serial Number Maintenance
  2. Go to Return Material Authorization module, enter RMA number, and verify part number, quantity, and reason sections are filled in.
  3. Within RMA module, click Serial Numbers. Enter Serial number at the bottom, press select, then move serial number from Available to Selected Serial Numbers. Change the Warehouse type.
  4. Then Open Job Manager, enter part number, unlink supply links, create job, enter job number.
  5. Then go to Job Entry module, paste new job number, change a bunch of codes, delete revision number, then save. Click Actions, get job Details, Enter Job template, highlight assembly, select no to “resequencing the assembly sequence numbers as you get the details” popup box.
  6. Open Purchase Order module, verify all details match. Go back to Job Entry and schedule the job.
  7. Open RMA Disposition Entry module, Click binoculars, enter the RMA number, highlight the associated RMA line and release and click ok. Add job number, select Dispose to “Job”, and click on Serial Numbers (yet again)