New to Updatable BAQ's

That's a good idea. I'll start with those. I don't always seem to have the right tools at my fingertips around here.
I'm just starting to learn about using updateable BAQ's and am trying to learn what I can and can't or more likely should and shouldn't do with them. I know that they can bypass some of the checks and rules in the system so I don't know what they bypass and don't bypass. One problem that we would like to fix in to make things easier is to be able to adjust reported quantities more quickly/easily. If a shop employee makes a mistake and accidentally over reports, the supervisor can go into time and expense and adjust the error. However, that T and E screen is rather clunky and takes a lot of time.

I would like to be able to present the labor entries in a grid view in and be able to filter by job number, employee number, date, maybe part number, and then be able to update the quantity from that grid.

I will also note that we backflush any materials not purchased directly to the job.

If I use an updatable BAQ to change the reported quantities, will the same issuing steps happen for the materials? Both in positive and negative? Or will this BAQ act like the job adjustment screen where it only changes the fields without all of the other processes happening after the entry? Would the way to fix this be to map the fields to other tables so that the adjustment gets made by the BAQ? Also, would the histories show up the same as they did if we use the stock screens.

Thanks for any insight, and I apologize for my ignorance.

Updatable BAQ's are very powerful but they should be used within the confines of the busines objects. If you want to do a Quantity Adjustment or a Labor Entry Adjustment you CAN use the Updatable BAQ's but you need to run a trace on each of those processes and write the code to call all the appropriate business logic within the Updatable BAQ Code.
Otherwise you will likely corrupt your DB

Jose C Gomez