UD Customization - General Enhancements & Auto-Populate data

Good afternoon,

Version: 10.2.300.9

(Disclaimer: I have been using Epicor for less than 6 months, and have never really spent any time coding prior to this role i’m in. Through the hundreds of BAQ’s i’ve created, I’ve become somewhat proficient with SQL, but other aspects of programming are still somewhat new. With that being said, I appreciate your understanding and for simplifying any difficult concepts.)

I have utilized one of the UD tables to create a place where supervisors go to enter in overtime (OT) for their employees. This was my first time ever using one of these, and my methods used to achieve this were pragmatic to say the least. I want to make some enhancements to the functionality for many reasons, but am not exactly sure how to obtain the results I desire.

I am using the following fields: (please feel free to make any suggestions if you see a better way)

Key1 = Supervisor ID (BAQ zone linked to BAQ with supID & calc. field for Supervisor name)
(Like: EmpBasic.SupervisorID - Format: x(4))

Key2 = Employee (BAQ zone linked to BAQ with Emp Name, ID, & calc field for Supervisor name) (Like: EmpBasic.Name - Format x(25))

Key3 = OT Reason (Figured i’d make the OT reason a key field, anticipating a unique explanation for each OT record)

Date01 = OT Date (Date OT was entered)

Number01 = OT Amount (Amount of OT in decimal hours (0.00))

Here’s what it looks like -

Desired Results:

1. Whenever a new record is created, and the supervisor fills in the Employee (BAQ zone) with the Employee Name, I wanted to collect the associated EmpID in another field that is not visible to the user for every new record. So the Supervisor see’s the employee’s name, but has no idea that I am also capturing that employee’s ID (Having the EmpID would strengthen the integrity of my OT BAQ & Dashboard)