100% Sales Gross Margin Report

Hello everyone, I have been using Epicor for a few years and was more/less thrown into the project management role and responsible for accurate project job costs at time of shipment. Let it also be known that I am NOT a finance/accounting guy; I’m an engineer with a “money comes in, money goes out” knowledge of accounting. That being said, I can see accurate job costs through job tracker & the job’s production detail report. However, the SGM report (that I don’t have access to generate) shows a lot of our “projects” with zero costs & 100% GM. Can anyone help with this? I’ve seen several posts with similar questions and a lot of suggestions w/ accounting jargon. Below is some information about how the jobs are structured (hope it helps).

We use Avg. Costing for our products

We typically make products from jobs to inventory and then ship from inventory

For never-made before jobs, sometimes the labor & mtl estimates are zero (I’ve heard leaving these at zero will affect the SGM report; is this true??..I would assume the SGM report would look at actual costs vs actual payments/sales dollars)

Occasionally the ‘Qty Complete’ is at zero at time of shipment because someone didn’t log in to the last operation; I can see that being a reason behind the false reporting.

Accurate job/part costs are visible through: Job Tracker & the Production Detail Report
Zero dollar costs/100% margin values are being shown through: Part Advisor & the SGM report.

Anything anyone needs from me, please ask; I just want this resolved. Thanks in advance!

Ed

My first guess would be that jobs are being shipped prior to the materials being issued. Or that the job is for a qty more than is shipped.