ACH Vendor payments

I am new to using Prophet 21. We currently only write checks to pay vendors. I would like to begin to pay our vendors using ACH. I’ve been reading that I need to contact Epicor to format a NACHA file format for me. Has anyone else had this done?

Also, being a new user I’m not sure in general what I would need to do to each individual vendor to set them up for ACH payment.

Any insight would be much appreciated!

Karen,
We just implanted ach payments, so contact me directly to share our experiences

Prasad@ndindutries.com. Thanks

Prasad

Depending on the bank, they should be able to provide you a data mapping file format that you then can generate a flat file from Epicor to send as an ACH payment. We did this with Wells Fargo and they provided us with what they needed.

I guess our problem is in generating the file from Epicor. We do not have any internal IT folks here (all outsourced) and I know I do not know enough to generate this on my own.

You will setup and electronic interface. Here is our setup and we are using the Payment_Generic file. You will then go into Payment Method Maintenance and create ACH and select the Interface you just created.

With the help of @Humberto_Martinez, we were able to break through the jump from 10.1.400 to 10.2.300 generating NACHA ACH transactions to pay vendors. In 10.1.400, I don’t think we defined any Electronic Interfaces and/or used defaults. In 10.2.300, we changed the “Program” on the EI from generic ach to Payment_US_ACH_Domestic.cs (path is Erp\EI\Payment_US_ACH_Domestic)

Couple of notes.

• The PayrollElectronicDeposit_NACHA.cs will not work when paying vendors. You’ll get a cast error as it is intended to only work with Payroll. I’ll add, since I’m new to ACH, I didn’t understand NACHA. Their site is geared toward Payroll. But several of the top 10 banks accept NACHA transactions to pay vendors. The Payment_US_ACH_Domestic.cs generates the NACHA standard