BAQ: Questioning My Table Joins

This must get asked a lot and I apologize, I have no experience with SQL. I have to give the BAQ designer some credit, it’s very easy to use. I’ve written a couple reports before, but the one I’m writing now I am really struggling with.

I was asked to create a report that shows Estimated vs Actual labor hours so we can see our over/under on jobs. I also need to group it by the type of job it is, since it’s easier to understand why a job would go over if it is more complicated than most others.

Issue I’m having is I’ve added the tables I want to get the fields I need, I’m not seeing enough results and I’m not sure why. 18 results when there should be several hundred. It must be something simple, I’m just not sure if I’m missing a table, or if the table order matters, or if it’s strictly table joins.
2023-05-24 12_14_43-Business Activity Query Designer

You are doing an inner join on all your tables. Your result will only show where all of the items match each other.

Based on your tables you can say this.

You are showing only quotes that have only have jobs,
jobs that only have assemblies and jobs that are associated to orders that have a customer on them.

When you say 100’s what do you mean?

I’d start by changing all your joins to left joins. (i.e., Show all rows from ParentTable)

That’ll help you see which tables are limiting your results. My gut says it’s probably make-to-order vs make-to-stock jobs.

@knash Thank you for the explanation. Before I made this, I created a test BAQ added JobHead table, and just the JobNum display field to get an idea of how many records I should be seeing. It gave me 318 results. I did the same with QuoteHed and QuoteNum, 250 results.