Basic Security Setup Newbie Questions

I’m new to Epicor and working on security setup for a small company.

Based on posts from this site, I am looking at setting security for all menus (not just the top of the menu tree to just hide the subtrees, due to potential context menu access) using DMT by creating security groups based on the menu structure, such as SALES, SALESSETUP, SALESRPT, SERV, SERVSETUP, SERVRPT, FIN, FINSETUP, etc. They are a small firm and didn’t want to get too complicated, so matching the user groups to the menu groups seemed the simplest method to split the functional areas.

Based on info on the Epicor training site, I was intending to create equivalent UD Security IDs (UDSALES, UDSALESETUP, etc.) and assign those to the menus in each subtree. This seemed a bit reversed from what I have done on other ERPs, but appeared to make sense based on the Epicor training pages examples, and seemed like it would work to allow me to specify specific security for each occurrence of the menus like UOM that have multiple occurrences in different areas, but sharing the same Security ID on every occurrence by default.

I then noticed that the 10.1 Sys Admin manual had a warning about standard menu items like AR Invoice Entry reverting back to its original security code when service packs were applied, which seemed strange, since the AR Invoice Entry was the actual menu used in the Epicor training example. This was my first moment of doubt, as a service pack reverting the recommended security method was disturbing, but I found the 10.2 Sys Admin manual and the warning was gone, so I hoped that the process had just changed between versions.