BOM Unit of Measure (UOM)

My main objective is to understand how the different Unit of Measure (UOM) fields and values in Epicor 9 are related to the BOM UOM so that upon release of an assembly, we can correctly map the UOM and BOM Qty values from a PLM system while not affecting other departments using Epicor ERP like Purchasing, Stockroom and Accounting.

We are in the process of implementing a new PLM system from a homegrown app to Empower (“Omnify”) and I am a key contributor to the design of the integration

We design Commercial Motor Controller/Amplifier Assemblies and as a Mechanical Engineer, my Bill of Materials in CAD and in PLM can be in inches of wire or ounces of grease for example. The three UOM fields that I have seen in Epicor are Inventory, Purchase, and Sales.
• Which one of these are the BOM UOM or is there an additional conversion value to define for the BOM UOM?
• Inventory seems the closest but the stockroom could inventory the item differently than Engineering does on the BOM.

Currently our company does not take advantage of the different UOM fields to automatically calculate the units conversions; Inv=”EA”, Pur=”EA”, Sal=”EA”. This of course had led to many accounting issues when back flushing non-each type items.
• Is there an SOP or Best Practices written that someone can send me so I can pass it along to our Epicor Admins?

I would greatly appreciate any advice to make our tools work better for each department.

Thanks for your help!
RF

Inventory UOM is how are you inventorying the item, example when you count it what are you counting.
Purchase UOM is how do you buy it from the supplier. Example I inventory it in ounces, but I buy it in LBs. The purchase UOM would buy 2 LBs but it would check into inventory as 32 oz.
Sales UOM is how do you sale it when you put it on an order entry. You may not sale it so just leave this like the Inventory UOM.