Can you keep the same ECO group open after checking in parts in the Engineering Workbench?

It seems the normal operation of workflow in the Engineering Workbench is:

  1. Select ECO group from the landing page or create a new one.
  2. Check out a part.
  3. Make required changes
  4. Approve All and Check in All.
  5. Workbench clears, part is checked in, ECO group is gone.

Is there an option somewhere to keep the ECO group open after checking in parts? My Engineers are telling me that having to search for or find their ECO group again after checking in a part is so cumbersome and time-consuming that it could lead to famine, disease, pestilence, war and possible PTSD (sarcasm mine).

Each engineer uses 1 ECO group, usually their initials + date for the whole calendar year. I’ve looked but don’t see a way to keep their groups open after checking in all their parts. Any ideas or should I just tell them to keep going until the horsemen show up?

We keep and reuse the same ECO Groups perpetually. Like you, each engineer has their own group, the Group ID being their initials.

It doesn’t delete itself upon check in. The next time they need to use it, they click their initials in the Landing Page or enter their initials in the ECO Group ID field, then carry on.

We have a couple that were created in 2020 and are still used today.

By “Open” you mean on the screen. And no, it clears the screen so the eco group needs to be looked up again. I’m pretty sure they do it that way on purpose to make sure there isn’t any stale data left in the screen after checking things in. In a past life when I used the engineering workbench a lot, I just typed in the group instead of searching.

I don’t know how to fix it, and even if you could it would be hacky fix.

But hey, if you do it, you’ll solve world hunger and create permanent world peace!

Yeah, I suspected the screen cleared for a good reason. I’m a bit sarcastic about since I find the complaint a bit petty. It literally takes just a second or two to reopen an ECO group.

I didn’t know if I was missing an easy “save layout” settings. I’ll tell them to keep going and chalk it up to first world problems. Thanks