Change Debit AR Account Based on Part Number

Hi all,

For some background our finance department creates invoices for lease terms. The debit amount should be moved to a separate AR account, however the amount is currently going to a default AR account instead. These lease terms always have the same part number, so I was hoping there is a way to decide which account to use based on part number.

Now I have done a little bit of research and everywhere I look people are saying to use product groups in GL control. However, based on what I am seeing this won’t work on the AR side of things. So then would modifying posting rules be the way to go with solving this? If so, what would that posting rule look like? I am new to the financial side of Epicor so I really could use a bit of guidance here.

Also side question: I have the posting rule tech reference, but is there any sort of basic examples or walkthroughs dealing with posting rules?

What Aspect of “AR” are you referring to?

• The transactions that happen prior to invoicing (like a customer shipment)
  • The transactions that happen when an invoice is posted?
  • The transactions that happen during cash receipts?

Depending how your company settings are configured, the most basic GL flow is:

1. PO Placed (no GL transaction)
  2. PO Received to Inventory
    (PUR-STK part tran creates GL trans: DB:Inventory, CR: ACCRUED RECEIVINGS)
  3. Cust Shipment from Inv
    (STK-CUS part tran creates GL trans: DB: A/R Clearing, CR:Inventory)
  4. Invoicing creates GL trans:
    4.1 DB: COS Account, CR: A/R Clearing
    4.2 DB: Sales/Revenue Acct, CR AR Account (not to be confused with A/R Clearing)

Which of those would you want to customize?

I honestly have no idea as a lot of this financial jargon is a bit over my head. I asked someone in Finance/Accounting and they said it would be when the invoice is posted & that happen during cash receipts. They also specified the following when I asked.