Compare Dates in BPM

I am trying to compare two dates and then choose the lower of the two dates in a BPM. One date is in a UD table and one is entered by a user, so will be in BPMData.Date03. I have tried putting this in a Condition and a Set Argument/Variable, but nothing seems to work for me.

When I try to do it simply and just compare the dates, I get the error message “BPM007: Result of expression cannot be compared with variable of ‘System.DateTime?’ type”.

I have tried converting the dates to Integers or Decimals, through an “If, then” statement like below and then have the result be the date field I want, but get the error message “error BPM006: Result of expression cannot be assigned to variable of ‘System.DateTime?’ type”.

((Convert.ToDecimal(dsUD12UD12Row.Date01)) > (Convert.ToDecimal(callContextBpmData.Date03))) ? callContextBpmData.Date03 : dsUD12UD12Row.Date01

I am new to BPMs in E10, but have worked with them in E9 and do not know C#. I would appreciate any help in getting this to work.

Also, if there is any good documentation out there that would help me understand the BPMs in E10 better, please let me know where it is.

Thanks!
Paula

1 Like

I don’t think it should be as hard as you are making it. I think you might have something more simple set up wrong. Can you show some screen shots of your BPM?

Converting a date to a decimal is not going to work. I would recommend get some basics in before you tackle any of this if you admittedly don’t know C# lots of resources online here is one to get you started if you want to spend some money Team Treehouse is awesome!

2 Likes

Also, your help files, or Epic Web has the tools guide which will introduce you to some BPM’s. I would spend some time with that.

1 Like

Thanks Brandon. The first image is just of my whole workflow. The next three are of the area I am having the problem.

Thanks Joshua. I will check that out.

Can I ask why you are converting the dates to integers/decimals?