Customization - Handheld Scanner with Suffix to Trigger Code

Hello,

I would like to setup a handheld barcode scanner with a Suffix key (for example a TAB or Enter), have a user scan a barcode, the data would be entered into a UD field, and the (TAB or Enter) Suffix would trigger custom code to be executed. I’ve been trying to use the Event Wizard to accomplish this but I can’t figure out which Available Control Event would work and the ones that I’ve tested don’t seem to be working the way I would assume. Can anyone suggest what Control Event might be best for this situation?

I feel like this is a basic custom programming question but I’m still new to custom coding and slowly learning little by little thanks to all of you guys and gals and your posts on here. You don’t even know how helpful you all and this site has been! But I think it might be time to cozy up to the EpicorCustomization_UserGuide and the EpicorICETools_UserGuide…just looking for an easy answer shout-out if one was available.

Thank you for any help, thoughts or ideas anyone can provide,
-Heather

It’s been years, but iirc when we did this we embedded a TAB it into the barcode itself. I did a quick google search to make sure I wasn’t crazy (though the jury is still out on that) but looks like you can:

1 Like

Dan removed it, but he is right, scanners do have a setting to do a TAB after scanning a barcode as well. Probably a better idea

2 Likes

I think i mis-read the question. I think you are looking for On_Leave of the field to execute the custom code.

2 Likes

Yes @duckor, I guess I am actually looking for an On_Leave of sorts. Feeling limited by the few options I had to program a Suffix on the handheld scanner I was trying to make it more of a specific trigger like a TAB or an Enter and just couldn’t think of it any other way.