How to do OCR?

Ok, sorry for the real simple question, but I’m stuck. Plus, I have very little experience with ECM. (And when you are used to the Epicor resources and documentation and expect the same from DocStar, you become :disappointed_relieved:)

I want to set up a batch import into ECM. I get creating the Content Type, where to drop the files after they are scanned, and that stuff. What I am stuck on is the OCR to name the files. The files will be all the same layout so I can do OCR to get the data I want, just not sure where that is done. I am thinking it is a workflow in ECM? But it could be something on the client that does it? If someone could give me a real high level, simple explanation on the steps I should be good. Any help is appreciated.

Yes you are right it is done in the DocStar Workflows that would be attached/assigned to a specific content-type. The “Tasks” you would use are either “Extract Text” (extracts all text in document) or “OCR” (extracts text from specific portion of document specified by user). I am not sure of the license required to be able to use these in a workflow.

Excellent! Thanks for the push in the correct direction.

How do you trigger the workflow though? And will the workflow always trigger regardless of how the document was added? I’m thinking of a batch import vs. a document added in Epicor.

You need to add workflow to the content type and assign it the workflow name that you would like the content type to be assigned to.

I think that’s how to do it off the top of my head.

1 Like

1 Like