Looking for advice on using E10 to scan pallets that are being staged/loaded onto trucks

Hello,

I am new to E10 and am looking for advice on how to use E10 to scan pallets of finished goods that are being staged and loaded onto trucks.

Thanks
Adam

Hello Adam, welcome.
Have you looked into Bartender and hand-held bar code scanners? That is an additional module and extra material costs. But it is basically built for what you bring up.
Contact your CAM.
Ben

Thank you Ben. We don’t have Bartender, but use scanners in other areas of our warehouse. Is it possible to use scanners for shipping without purchasing an additional module?

2D and 3D code scanners are just input devices, similar to a mouse.
You absolutely can use those scanners to enter data on custom or standard Epicor screens, if setup properly.
My company uses 2d scanners with a custom interface to choose raw material to issue to Jobs. The trick is that we have to have a computer at each of those locations, to utilize the scanner as an input device. The same screens can use the scanners or mouse clicks to accomplish the same material issue.

Adam, what is the flow you are hoping to achieve? Are you talking about creating a pack or are you talking about loading a truck and shipping it?

Hi Taylor,

We are trying to make sure that we are loading the correct packs (pallets) onto the correct trailers. We currently use a process of writing down on paper what pack numbers (pallets) are supposed to be loaded onto a truck and this is used by our fork lift drivers. This can lead to errors such as loading the incorrect pallets or leaving some pallets off. I am trying to find a way/process to keep better track of the pallets that are supposed to be loaded. A scanning system seems like something that will help our fork lift drivers. I am not sure where to begin to achieve this.

1 Like

There is some good information for you in this thread: