MRP suggestion of sub-assembly part

Hello everyone! This is my first post, I’m new to Vantage, please excuse any incorrect terminology.

We have an issue on setting up sub-assembly part, which is purchased, invoiced, but we don’t ship it physically. It gets consumed by another part.

Reason behind it is that customer wants us to hold certain amount of stock of part in non-painted state. When they are ready to order a specific colour (top level part) we raise another demand. We have another part for that which has a paint operation and the part in question as material.

The problem we are having is when raising demand for the painted top level part, if also the non-painted part isn’t finished and booked to stock, the MRP will suggest to make more non-painted parts.

I’m not sure how to tackle this problem. Few questions arise.

1. Would disabling “process MRP” on non-painted part solve the problem?
  2. How can we sell or invoice non-painted part, but not ship at the same time, so it stays in stock until ready to be consumed by top level part?

Any help is greatly appreciated!

Let me understand this before I go any further.

• The subassembly component is a machined complete part which is unpainted. You do nothing to it (except maybe inspect it when it arrives), so no value is added.
  • Once this machined complete part is received (purchased),
  • you invoice the customer for the component part and
  • hold it in stock until you get an order for the painted final assembly.

Do I understand this correctly?

Charlie Smith

CRS Consulting Svcs

(860) 919-1708

CTCharlie@outlook.com

Hi Charlie,

That’s all correct but the first point. I’m sorry, I haven’t explained it very clearly. We also make the non-painted part, it’s not a purchased part. The non-painted part has it’s own set of operations, quite a few actually.

Do you invoice for the complete part as if it was painted and just ship it after you paint, or does the painted part have another invoice?

Hi Josh,