PartTran Query Performance

Has anyone been able to improve the querying performance of the PartTran table on the server? We have a little over 11 million rows and to query the entire table it takes around 20 minutes. It just so happens that one of the TranTypes I need to use accounts for 92% of the data in the table. That TranType is STK-MTL. I have created an Index just to see if that would improve it but I am not experienced in that area. Ideally I want to query the Index from three views that I created which have TranType criterias on them. The below example is one of my views:

SELECT PartNum AS PartTran_Issue_PartNum, TranDate AS PartTran_Issue_TranDate, TranQty AS PartTran_Issue_TranQty
FROM Erp.PartTran AS PartTran_Issue
WHERE (TranType = ‘STK-MTL’) OR
(TranType = ‘STK-KIT’)

You want to get back all 11 million rows? That seems pretty large
What’s the end goal? That’s a lot of data.
20 minutes is excessive , what was the new index you created ? The values in that field are not varied enough to benefit from an index just on that.
How’s your index fragmentation overall in the DB?

1 Like

The example view that I posted in my question will return back around 10 million rows. I would like to get the Last TranDate and Last TranQty by PartNum out of the view. I was not able to get the LAST_VALUE statement to work in the SQL View but I was able to get it to work when querying the view. Screenshots below are the index setup. Maybe I’m going down the wrong path on this, please feel free to tell me to snap out of it if I am.

For dense indexes they recommend just using an inner join.

So your code would look something like:

SELECT pt.PartNum, pt.TranDate, pt.TranQty
FROM ERP.PartTran pt
INNER JOIN (
    SELECT PartNum, MAX(TranDate) AS _max
    FROM ERP.PartTran
    GROUP BY PartNum) x ON pt.PartNum=x.PartNum AND pt.TranDate=x._max
1 Like

I was able to get the query time down by creating a new table from a SELECT INTO query. Appreciate the help.