Resource Capabilities

Hi All,

I’m new to this software and just starting to get familiar with Epicor Scheduling. Please bear with me as I try to get to all your levels! We just went live in Epicor in May of 2020. Mainly working from the technical guides.

Currently setting up the system with the basics and going to go from there. Right now I’m having issues with resource groups. Many of our resources within the resource groups are capable of working multiple resource groups. It’s been conflicting my schedule and not sure the best way to approach it. I was thinking that I could either add capabilities to the operations or the resource? I think it makes more sense to make the resource capable of multiple resource groups and then set priorities on the groups? What’s the best way to do that? I apologize if I’m missing anything or this is too basic!! The capability maintenance screen is throwing me off some and may not be in the right place.

Welcome. My response is going to assume that you have cells and that is why you have resources that could perform operations for other resource groups.

Excuse me if my answer is not exact as my current role does not have the advanced scheduling.

You want to create the capabilities and tie the resources that can meet that capability to it and what operation it is that will be performed.

Then, when the MOM is being built, the engineer should be adding the capabilities to it instead of the operation. Dragging in the capability will add the operation and the default resource. When you run scheduling, if there are conflicts, the engine will see if there are other resources with the same capability and look for open time on them.