REST API GET and POST on same call

Hello,
I’m fairly new to REST-API and just have been using Postman for a couple of years. I know how to do a simple GET and a POST but that’s it. In our company website, we want to add the capability of having customers add their own contacts using API calls. First, we have to validate if the contact already exists in our Epicor and if the email address doesn’t exist, they would add it so I sent the GET and POST payload to the web team to make two separate calls and it’s been working fine. Well now, they are asking if we can do a GET and POST on the same call. Basically some kind of an if-then-else statement that IF the email address does not exist THEN add the contact, ELSE throw an error. Is this possible?

Thanks in advance.

you can do a patch… which is an update (or add if it doesn’t exist)

if you want to throw an error if it exists you can do that via BPM that checks for duplicates and throws an error on the Update / Post

Jose, sorry I guess my question wasn’t clear. To be more specific, we have an e-commerce site where we want customers who are logged in to be able to add company contacts. On a form on the site, customers would create a “New Contact” under their account. Our ecom team would like to make one single call to check (GET) and make sure if the contact does not exist in Epicor and if it’s not, then add (POST) the contact on the same call. If exists, GET returns a record, then the ecom team will display an error on our ecom website that the contact already exists. Currently, they are making two separate calls. You were saying, PATCH would be able to do this? We don’t want our customers to “update” and want them to only add. I hope this makes sense. If this is possible, is this easy enough to do or should we hire a consultant/programmer for this? Thank you.

No, a PATCH won’t do what you’re looking for either, I don’t think.