Security Manager

Hi all,
I’m new to Epicor and I’m trying to better understand this Security Manager feature. So based on what I’ve read and tested, there is no possible way to perform Menu Maintenance unless the user is flagged as a Security Manager, is that correct? I have copied all menu items under Security Maintenance into a new menu and it seems that most menu items (User Security, Security Group, Process Security) work without the user being flagged as a Security Manager with the exception of Menu Maintenance (the user can only see the menu items assigned to them and not the entire tree in order to maintain the security for every menu item). While I don’t expect us to be performing Menu Maintenance on a regular basis, I would really like to find a way to not have individuals flagged as a Security Manager since that gives full system access to every aspect of the system, including entering invoices, supplier/customer maintenance, entering journal entries, etc. This seems like it would be quite a violation of SOX and segregation of duties. Can anyone provide insight into what I may be missing and how other companies might be managing this? Does it get better in newer versions of Epicor?

Security Manager means you can access all menus.

If your staff can see menus you don’t want them to you need to use security groups.

I built a structure with the “you don’t have access to anything until provided” mindset. Out of the box Epicor menus & groups allow way too much access from my point of view.

edit Create a new security group and assign only one user to that group making sure that is the only group on that menu

1 Like

Yes, the plan is to create Security Groups and assign them the applicable menu items based on each functional role and then it’s much easier to assign/maintain appropriate user access. But that Security Manager “feature” seems to be in conflict with SOX/SOD.

1 Like