Serial Number location vs On Hand Quantity location

Hi All,

So I am new to Serial Numbers in Epicor.

I am seeing issues where the potential problem is that the on hand quantity is in on warehouse bin but the serial number (in the Serial Number Maintenance screen) says it is in another warehouse bin. This appears to make it so that we cannot transact against a particular serial number that is in a different bin than the on hand quantity.

First, does this sound like I have it correct? Also, if yes, how does this happen.
Finally, how do I rectify it? Do I simply update the location in the Serial Number Maintenance screen?

Yes

What are your SN settings at the Site?

Yes

One cause that we saw was a user needs to move a serialized inventory item from one bin/whse to another.
Instead of a transfer they open the serial number in serial number maintenance and change the Warehouse and Bin on the SN record. The qty is still in the first bin, but the serial now shows in the new bin.

Here is a “learned that the hard way” tip - if you do cycle counts or physical inventory, be absolutely sure that the grand total of serial numbers in inventory is equal to the quantity OH in inventory before you freeze the count. If not, you will gain or lose on them (falsely).

1 Like

I have a slightly similar issue to this but I don’t know how it happened. Our SN’s and locations for a part in a specific warehouse shows 187pcs with an assigned SN, that was verified by a physical count… however if you look at part tracker for that warehouse it states 188pcs are in there. On the opposite side of things in part tracker a second warehouse is reporting 1 piece less than physical, and the SN report matches the physical count.