Auto-Assigning all warehouses to part

I’ve been trying to figure out how to assign all warehouses to each newly created part via a BPM but not sure where to begin on doing so.

I know this can be done via DMT, but we want the assignment to happen automatically upon the creation of new parts, having to update warehouses via DMT each time is too time consuming.

Thanks in advance.

If when adding a new part you duplicate it from a part that has all the warehouses attached, the new part will have them as well.

That was an option, but it was requested that it just auto-assigns on the creation of a new part.

I asked this a while ago (but with adding sites too). But got no help then :frowning:

I do it in code post processing, but I am going to try to do it in wizards, but am 0 for 3 tries so far. This is my first attempt are using the widgets so if anyone has a starter guide that would be great.

Here is a post processing widget bpm that will add two warehouses. You would just repeat the GetNewWhse, Set PartWhse.WareHouseCode, Part.Update as needed. The custom code at the end refreshes the screen so the user doesn’t have to.

Thanks to @markdamen for his post and picture I mimicked.

Greg

image new part add whse.bpm (53.4 KB)

2 Likes

Has anyone tried or got any ideas to generate this functionality by scanning down all the warehouses and adding any PartWarehouse records that are missing as opposed to having to hard code the Warehouses into the Directive?

@rdcrozier If you look at the code generated by the widget in the source directory on the server it is calling GetNewPartWhse, setting the WarehouseCode and updating. You could a foreach on Warehse then use an .any to check for that warehouse on a part. On a single part this would be post processing on add just like the version here. This could also be done using a UD update to kick off a process to cover all existing parts.

Greg,