Best Practice for Accessing Metadata from ERP?

Background: Right now we’re mainly using ECM to replace a file server for handling ERP attachments and conditionally auto-attaching docs via Advanced Printing. I haven’t even given users direct access to ECM, never mind gone into workflows. Users are interacting with ECM entirely through ERP. The general plan right now is to integrate document data into BPM’s to enforce policy. I’m just getting into implementing some of this and wanted to get advice on it.

The first relevant project is this: we have various certifications (AS9100, NADCAP, etc.) we need to track on the vendor side. We have to keep copies of said certs on file, and when said certs expire, we need to prompt said vendor for new copies. In some cases, we are not allowed by our customer to release a PO if it’s due after a cert expires. This rule must be enforced via a hard stop in the system. The exact details are for us to decide, but the end result is that the system cannot spit out a PO form that can then end up in a vendor’s inbox.

My thought is to create a cert doctype (perhaps multiple types, specifics on that front are TBD, but I’m not worried about that) and have users enter a cert date and expire date upon upload. Thus I reduce the multiple steps of certs to a single user action. Then, when releasing/receiving a PO, reference the expire date in a BPM and go/no go based on that.

My question is how to retrieve said data from ECM after upload? I’d assume best practice is via the REST API, but I’m struggling to find documentation on that. I’d rather not access the ECM database directly.

Also, does Kinetic have better built-in integration than 10.2 that would allow a less-custom solution? I’m planning on updating to Kinetic later this year anyway, but if 2021/2022 handles this out-of-the-box, it becomes a more pressing issue.

Try this via REST (inside Epicor via BO)

BO is Ice.BO.Attachment
31 is the FileXRef num from the attachment.