BPM to record changes in UD table?

Hello! I am very new to writing BPMs, so I apologize in advance if this is easily attainable. I’ve reviewed some of the educational material and I’m not able to discern a way to do this without help… hence why I’m turning to you!

I am trying to create a BPM that writes a new record to a UD table (UD08) whenever a field is changed within Order Entry (UnitPrice, SellingQuantity, or RequestDate). The fields it would add to UD08 would be some stock fields and some custom fields (OrderNum, OrderLine, ChangeType_c, ChangeReason_c, ChangeNotes_c, ChangedBy, and ChangeDate).

Bonus points if you’re able to tell me how to also get it to capture how the revenue changed in an additional calculated field! (old unit price × old quantity, versus updated unit price × updated quantity).

I’ve only created one other BPM to capture the date a query was last used, following these instructions. I tried to apply the same logic to this task, except placing it in Pre-Processing under SalesOrder.Update, and I couldn’t get anything to work.

I’ve tried searching the site for similar requests, but almost all of the solutions I’ve found have been to enable the ChangeLog in the business object. We want to write the changes to a UD table because we want to capture the changes across all sales orders, while the ChangeLog only focuses on one sales order at a time. Writing the changes to a UD table also means I’ll be able to create a nifty SSRS report to analyze and make the data presentable for those who are asking for it.

This is doable via BPM with widgets.

For your bonus question. In the pre processing. you could do a get by id and do the math. the getbyid will return what is still in the database vs what is being changed.

You can then also use widgets to create a new ud08 record. fill the table and then update the new ud08 record.

What have you started with?

@knash Thank you for trying to help out, I really appreciate it!