C# equivalent of the SQL CASE statement?

No right or wrong answers, just looking for a cleaner way to do this.

So, I’m still no coder, but I will admit, setting variables in widgets is absurd when you have 24 to do like I am dealing with. So I’m doing this in C#. Yes, let’s hear it. I’m ready. :boxing_glove: :boxing_glove:

I started with the green commented-out section at the end (dataset field = input). That worked fine.

Then a lightbulb - if my user passes a blank (empty string) for a value, do I interpret that as

• The user wants to overwrite the data to now be blank?
  • Or they just want to skip over it and leave it as the original value?

And the answer was that he wanted blank to mean “leave it alone.” On the flip side, if he wants to actually clear a field (set it to an empty string), we agreed to send over the string "NULL".

So, the new code I made works fine, too. It’s just ugly. I did nested ternary operators () ? :

In short, it says:
field1 = (input1 == "") ? field1 : (input1 == "NULL") ? "" : input1

But it just seems excessive when I do it for 24 fields (this example has 9; another has 24).

If it were SQL, I’d write
case input1 when '' then field1 when 'NULL' then '' else input1 end

OK, I guess that’s literally the same length. But I guess my point is that it would scale better if I had more “whens.”

Anyway, if there’s some more intelligent strategy to this, please share.

What if you put the current value into all your fields? That way when you re-write their values to update, you don’t have to check if they wanted it to be blank vs. leave it alone.

I’m not grasping it, though it sounds elegant.

Can you maybe put that into pseudocode?