Customizations, Personalizations and Layouts

I’ve been doing customizations for over 10 years and still don’t fully understand how to make the layouts of a customization be the default for that customization.

First off, is the layout a subset of a personalization?

I can change the size of a window, and then do a “Save layouts”. The next time the form loads, the window is sized to what it was when “Save layouts” was done. Save layouts also seems to remember the widths and orders of grid columns, as well as grid sorts.

But you need to enter personalization mode to show or hide columns in a grid.

When creating a new customization, you need to choose starting point. Your choices are:

1. The base form, w/o any personalizations applied
  2. A customization, w/o any personalizations applied
  3. A customization, with a specific personalization applied
  4. The base form, with a specific personalization applied

image But you could also choose a specific Personalization for the form (base or customization), as your starting point.

Do the personalizations (#'s 3 or 4 in that pict), include both personalizations AND layouts?

When making a customization, I always start from the Base, or a Customization w/o any applied personalizations.

Say I want to make the first customization of the Order Entry form. This will add some UD fields and what not. The details of the customization aren’t important. In addition to the customization, want to reorder the columns in the Detail -> List grid, as well as changing which columns are hidden or shown.

Would the order be to:

1. Personalize the Base form with the grid column reordering, and editing the grid’s collection.
  2. Do a “Save Layouts” then close the form.
  3. Enter developer mode, and launch Order Entry
  4. Select the Personalization of the base Form (#4 in my picture above)
  5. Enter customization mode, and save as a new customization.

Or should I:

1. Enter developer mode, and launch Order Entry