Data Directive - notifications from production server only?

Hello,

We have recently set up a data directive BPM to notify a few lucky users of the status of the nightly MRP process run. (complete or error) Our users are like most other users; they want to see more notifications until they want to see fewer. In this case our users do not want/need to see MRP notifications generated from our test instance.

So far, I have not found a way to send BPM notifications only when they are generated by the production server. Maybe I’m missing something…

Also, I’m new to Epicor (6 months in), so don’t assume that any question is ‘too basic’.

Thanks,
Bill Cox

You’ll need some custom code to do this sort of check:

In later versions you can set an app server as ‘Production’ in the epicor admin console. You can then check for the production flag in a BPM if block.

2 Likes

That is what I use

string res = "SessionNull"; 

string appserv = "";
if(Session != null && Session.AppServerURL != null)
{
  appserv = Session.AppServerURL.ToString();
  int index = appserv.ToUpper().IndexOf("PILOT");//presence of the word Pilot in your appserver or whatever name you indicated...
  if (index != -1)
  {  
    res = appserv.Substring(index);
  }

}

then where ever you need it use res…

Pierre

4 Likes

There’s a Company level setting that the BPM could check.

Edit

It might have been added after 10.2.300

Okay, I understand what’s going on in the code, but I’m unsure how to refer to the ‘res’ variable to set a BPM or scalar variable or to use it in a BPM condition.

What I have done so far is to create an ‘Execute Custom Code’ step, paste in the code as-is, checking for ‘TEST’ instead of ‘PILOT’, and successfully checking syntax.

Create a BPM Variable (type string), named sess. Then in your Exec Cust code widget…

this.sess = "SessionNull";
// other code from above

if (index != -1)
  {  
    this.sess = appserv.Substring(index);
  }