Deferred Revenue Recognition

So… huh?

Doesn’t 11.04 not equal 0 ?

I am very new to deferred revenue (we just bought the module), but I’m not new to accounting.

PE Log viewer shows 11.04 for every “Value” in this edit list, yet when I post this, the TranGLC table shows zeroes for this transaction.

This seems totally wrong. Why don’t I get a move to sales revenue?

Well, I did a better BAQ on this invoice and it does seem to hit the right accounts after all.

So that edit list is pointless?

Alright, I am lost now. One of three show in the edit list today in the recap section.

I guess that is true. Here is the GL report.

But like I said yesterday, it looks right in TranGLC…

The only difference between these that I see being relevant is that the one that actually hit the GL, it did NOT reference a sales order in the service contract.

No one is familiar with this? I guess I’ll try support. :grimacing:

I haven’t looked through all the info in your posts… so with that said, my first guess would be that the GL transaction is using the same account for both the credit and the debit. And the Posting engine won’t create a transaction with a zero debit and credit. so those transactions wouldn’t show up on edit lists or the Invetory WIP Recon report.

1 Like

Well, as usual, you are right.

Now I have to figure out why the last iteration is different. Same customer and company for every test.

Yeah, the tech ref is not as, ahem, technical as I would like. (It’s a whopping 7 pages front to back; 4 of those are TOC and legal.)

Yeah, I can’t decipher this.

I mean, it looks like maybe if I had a GL control on this customer, I could avoid all this. Maybe. But I shouldn’t need to.

It’s supposed to go up a level to company, but that’s a lie: it goes to the invoice line next. (Why on earth is it not the other way around?)

But then it looks for a context called “Recognized Revenue” in the GL Control Code of the line (say what?) which is some 9-digit number.