Is Insights worth the money?

I’m relatively new to Epicor development and it has been recommended this would be a good conference to attend(in 2021). I mentioned this to my manager and the feedback was wouldn’t we get more out of just hiring a consultant to get 1 on 1 training for the same amount of money. It wasn’t a no, but my manager questioned the value of the conference.

I’ve never been to a conference so don’t have any first hand experience, but I see her point. Any feedback for a newbie who wants to learn more about Epicor development in regards to the value of attending Insights?

I find that Insights is a good forum to interact with other users from other organizations to bounce problems and solutions off each other. Typically, you find those kind of discussions in a class or a lab at Insights. You’ll find find lots of creative ways to do things.
Keep in mind - you can find similar info here. :smile:

When I go, I’m typically at a class during every slot. I usually have several interesting classes at the same time, and have to make cuts. With a consultant, you have to know what you want to get out of them. At Insights, you browse the class descriptions and can dip your feet in by attending the classes.

Also - it’s not that expensive to attend when you consider the cost of the software. One valuable takeaway could be enough to pay for the entire trip.

2 Likes

also compared to the hourly cost of a consultant…

We have met with a certified Epicor Vendor and basically was telling us that the training sessions were only surface …not depth digging presentations… and we would better off ask them for a specific need… (so basically preaching for his own profit…:wink: )

I cannot confirm or say otherwise as I have never been to Insights after 5 years of use… My management does not, at the moment, aknowledge my request to attend…:roll_eyes:

But i hope I can attend at least once in my life time…when my management decide in my favor! :crossed_fingers:

Pierre