Multi-Site BOMs

I now know that revisions on parts are site-specific. Yay.

I get it. Operations (and resource groups) are site-specific, therefore revisions as well.

But honestly, it’s only the BOM (the parts) that I need to be universal to all sites. The other site just needs the parts listing of a sales kit. They don’t care about operations. I wish there was a way to make a BOM (only) shared across sites.

I don’t know how that would work; I’m thinking you’d have to separate the BOM and the BOO (and they are separate already) in the way that HTML and CSS are separate. You can apply different style sheets (CSS) to the same HTML page if you want to redo the colors or whatever.

Just throwing it out there.

Meant to cross-reference this post by @Nancy_Hoyt. I’m new to multi-site, but I thought she summed up the heartache well.

Hi Jason,

Your post worries me a bit. Post E9-E10 upgrade, after 9 months of carrying on with Epicor support that they changed a functionality that we HEAVILY relied upon, notably, full BOM listing regardless of part revision plant, they fixed it and told us to go to 10.1.600.20 to receive the benefit of the fix. We did and have been happy as clams (like the little clams we were in E9 with it!) with the fix.

Don’t tell me they broke it again?!?! in 10.2.

Are you saying that when you do a BOM listing or method tracker for a parent part that has children that are manufactured in different plants (i.e., different part rev plant between parent and child(ren)) that you do NOT see all lower level parts that go into the final top parent part?

We have controlled govt orders and showing every part that goes into every part is a very big deal to us…

Nancy

@Nancy_Hoyt No, I have not looked into it that far. If that has been improved, that’s good. I just saw your post, when I was looking to see what others might have said about this, and I thought I’d reference it.

Nancy,