New to Epicor - How to add tracking number to Service Call Center Main Screen

Hello,

I am extremely new to Epicor and have been thrown into it to find out answers to questions I am not sure how to phrase.

What I am being asked to do is:
Add the tracking number from the Misc Shipment entry screen (MscShpHd.TrackingNumber) to the Service call center summary tab.

I am trying to accumulate the knowledge on adapters to do this. I assume I would need to create an adapter to this and then somehow reference it?

Also, Is there any good training on customization out there? I am starting to work through the Epicor training but it doesn’t really explain well, IMO.

Any help is appreciated.

You’ll need to read the Epicor Customization and Epicor Ice Tools Guide, do the Epicor Customization Course and a strong foundation on Epicor (the application). The rest just comes with trial and error, of course resources like this website are a great addition.
To add the tracking number from Misc Shipment screen the easiest way would be a BPM on the Update method in HDCase to lookup the Shipment Record and store the Tracking Number in a UD field.
Another option is using an FKV (Foreign Key View) which allows you to reference a Foreign Table in a Customization Keyed of an existing DataView. Both of these concepts are explained in the guides I mentioned.

[BPM Page 526]
https://epicweb.epicor.com/doc/Docs/EpicorICETools_UserGuide_101600.pdf

[FKV Page 457]
https://epicweb.epicor.com/doc/Docs/EpicorCustomization_UserGuide_101600.pdf

1 Like

Hello,

I tried the foreign key view (Option 2) and it kinda worked.

The only way I was able to access the Tracking number in the MscShpHd table was to select the field ‘PackNum’.

Unfortunately, I need to key off the field ‘CallNum’ and it goes to the FSCallHd Table.

Is there a way to Change CallNum to use the MscShpHd table?

So your MiscPack num is the same as the CallNum?