How to Automatically Complete Task when Closing Case

Hi guys,

Our customer service department wants to start using tasks on our cases, but doesn’t want to get stuck with a long list of open tasks on closed cases. I’d like to have Epicor complete the top task automatically when I close the case. I’m new to calling other BO’s before, but think I have the basics. I’ve re-read the Advanced BPM’s EDU document, the extended Ed courses, and a few examples (1, 2, 3, 4), but I’m still really confused on how to update a task with an invoked BO method (we’re on 10.2.700, so I could do functions, but figured I’d start with BPM’s since I’m more comfortable…). Any advice is appreciated!

From what a gather from a trace:

1. Create a BPM on HelpDesk’s OpenCloseCase method.
  2. Use a Invoke BO Method widget to call the Task.GetByID BO (to find the task to mark complete) and load into a data set. (I’m getting an error trying to join ttHDCase.HDCaseNum integer to dsTask1’s Key1 string)
  3. Setup variable to update the task fields. Do I use four Set Argument/Variable widget to set these variables? Or an Update Table by Query setter? or Fill Table by Query? Or Set BPM Data Fields? I’m very confused by these, and what the ‘right’ way is…
  4. Invoke BO Method to call Task.UpdateExt (why not Update, which only has a dataset parameter, vs the UpdateExt that also has the error handling)? Also had a warning on the variable for dsTask, so I set that to dsTask2, but I think that’s not right…

Need to set the task:

• Complete = True
  • ReasonCode = SOL
  • TaskCompletePasswordIsValid = True
  • ReasonCodeHDDescription = SOLUTION COMPLETE
  • RowMod = U.

<tracePacket>
  <businessObject>Erp.Proxy.BO.TaskImpl</businessObject>
  <methodName>Update</methodName>
  <appServerUri>net.tcp://***masked***/</appServerUri>
  <returnType>System.Void</returnType>
  <localTime>11/12/2021 08:46:34:1230897 AM</localTime>
  <threadID>1</threadID>