New to Epicor, where to start

Hello EpiUsers,

I have about 3 years experience in a different non-manufacturing ERP system, but I am new to Epicor.
I’ve got about a month in. Touched a couple screens for new employees and modified an existing BPM in a Method Directive.
Wondering if there is any advice out there on where I should start to build a good foundation to understand this system or some good go to training in Epicor Learning Center?

Thanks in advance!
C

I feel like understanding Time Phased Inquiry is a good goal.

Being able to look at it and read it top to bottom like a story, understanding how each line got there, and what it means.

3 Likes

@cdao Welcome. Go to EpicWeb and download as many guides as interest you. I would make sure to get the users guide and ice tools for classic and UX. Somewhere there is a quote to cash step by step using the training data that goes thru a lot of the basics of the system.

4 Likes

There are also videos. Most are for versions higher than you are currently, but most of the basic ideas are still true.

3 Likes

Run Away GIF

I’m starting a new analyst this week who has many years of experience in ERP but not Epicor.

My onboarding plan has two pillars:

1. He gets his own sandbox that’s a copy of today’s environment, and will follow along with users in every process from quote to cash;

2. He will be given assignments in each stage of the DevOps chain, starting with “Monitor” and working his way backwards

I’m hoping this can be done in 6-8 weeks.

1 Like

Now for my real comment. I concur with what’s already been posted. I wish I had asked the same question a while back.

My advice is to lurk here an hour a day or so.
If a problem or subject looks interesting, follow it and read about it.

You’ll gain insight into a lot, just by seeing how the problems are addressed.

The veterans here (and some not) have a wealth of information and / or problem solving skills that is 2nd to none.