PO Inspection Flag is Greyed out

Hi everyone I just came to a company that uses the Inspection Flag on the PO level. The Inspection flag is turned to true as needed and works ok for inventoried parts. All PO’s are manually generated as spot buys. The company expenses parts below a certain dollar value but we still need to inspect many of those products as they are received. Unfortunately if the part is an “expense” part the inspection flag becomes inaccessible when entering a PO. The PO automatically turns to “other” as well. This is causing a problem as you can imagine due to the receivers see “False” for the inspection flag and the parts that need inspected don’t get taken to quality. I am new to Epicor so wondering where to start looking…

The PO becomes an other when you’re buying an “expense” part or a non part master part to create the PUR-UKN transaction. Unfortunately you can’t inspect a non part master part (unless it is returned on an RMA).
You can still technically “expense” part master items by controlling the GL on the part class setup and setting them to non-qty bearing. We do this for certain parts. That may be your solution is to set them up using an expensed part class.

1 Like

as @MDiekhuis suggested, you can purchase your expense parts AND have them inspected. Where I used to work (prior to my 23 years at Epicor) we did just that… we had a part number assigned in our part table for every expense item that we “normally” purchased (pens, paper, staples, etc).
You see, in our old system, if you wanted to keep track of historical prices, you had to have a part number. In Kinetic, you no longer have this requirement, as you can see historical prices, even for parts that have no part master.
BUT the inspection rule still is in place. You must have a part number pre-defined in the part table in order to inspect it.