Product Configurator - use component cost pricing

I’ve been asked if we can do a cost + for pricing on a configured item.
So I suspect I’ll need to loop through the BOM using LINQ to get the cost of the materials and add to that number. It’s too bad we can’t get at the component cost as pricing is already there but oh well.
Has anyone done this and do you have the LINQ for it? I don’t really have an idea on where to start for this and I’m relatively new to LINQ.

Thanks

Most users do this in the Quote. They would do a Get Details in the Quote and after your Keep-When rules run, you can see the component costs and mark up the Quote from there. You’d have to do all the Keep-When logic in your Configurator and then get the costs through a UD Server Method.

Mark W.

Thanks Mark, but what happens if you don’t have to quote it first? Sounds like this way would force you to start with a quote?

Um, not to sound snarky but isn’t this what they’re doing? :wink: I mean, the Quote Details with the Manufacturing Details is really a nice tool to have. If you get the order, it’s easy to template and move to production.

Also, by using a Quote, you can copy the line down (configuration and all) and do several what-ifs…

Kind of but not always. Some of the customers have been ordering for so long that they don’t worry about a quote and just send in a PO or call with order details. But that may change if we go this route.
You’re right about everything, but we just don’t use those things like what-ifs. And we also tend to copy orders/lines.

We use the Quote module but NEVER send a quote out from it - OK, maybe spares. We just use it as a tool to check calculations. But our deals are big so we quote on nice heavy paper! :wink: