How can you iterate / loop in a BPM if you can't use C# blocks

For example, lets say when a certain field on the sales order change, if OrderHed_ShortChar02 = “A”, find all other sales orders with the OrderHed_ShortChar02 = ‘A’ and change the same fields on each of them.

The first thing that comes to my mind is a loop - but I can’t use c# blocks. Is there another way to do this? Perhaps there is some way to make a recursive BPM?

Tbh, I don’t understand why they don’t have blocks for looping, it doesn’t seem like it would be hard to add. Maybe its to prevent you from locking up the server?

I’m far from an expert here, but if you are concerned with the validation error on a BPM loop, I can tell you it’s a lie:

1 Like

I can second that. I regularly use looped BPM widgets. You have to know that Epicor doesn’t care if you make an infinite loop. So you have to be very careful about your loop conditions. I use the conditionals, internal variables, and set value widgets. I don’t ever bother to ‘validate’. It just seems to take forever and never give any useful information. If the BPM will save then it should be ok.
Good luck!

1 Like

Ok, can you give an example of changing a field on a bunch of records returned by a query? I can see how you might increment a number, so you could recreate a “For” loop, but I can’t figure how you would access query results by index.

I can’t help with your exact issue. The best way I have learned is to first trace the steps you want to reproduce in the BPM. This isn’t exactly what you want, but some of it might help.

In my case I wanted to create a new line/release. So I opened the sales order entry form, navigated to my sales order. Then I started the tracer in Epicor. Go back to sales order form and create the new line/release. Go back to the tracer and stop the trace, and open the trace file.

I think you might want a method-directive. But not sure on the details. Change Op Description When Switching Resource Group IDs