Serial number visibility

We currently don’t use serialization, so I’m new to this.

I got it turned on in my test system. See this thread for that saga.

Now I’m doing a little exploring to figure out how it works. I have the mask set up, and turned on a for a part number. I see how the shipping works with the serial numbers, adding them (we will be adding them at shipment). So far so good.

The reason that we want to start using serial tracking is for transferring ownership to customers. We sell the original to a contractor, who installs it, but then for future warranty and parts orders, we are dealing with the end user, so a different/new customer. I looked at the customer transfer screen, that’s pretty straight forward as well.

So the backbone of the system seems like it’s working for me just fine. My question is, where else can you see the serial numbers owned by a customer? I was expecting this to be in the customer tracker but I don’t see it there. Is it really the only place to see that in serial number maintenance/tracker?

It’s not a huge deal if it is, I’m perfectly capable to making a customization, but it just seems a little short sighted on Epicor’s part, so I feel like I’m missing something.

Welcome to a whole new world.

Out of box there is not much with SN reporting, you will have to use the information on the SN to get to the customer, order, job, packid, and such…

That being said we have created UD fields on the SN and Part to help us make sure we know which customer the serial number belongs to. A lot will depend on your business case. Are you doing service on the Serialized Equipment? That is also a fun topic to get into.