Vantage 8 Trapping Delete

No matter where you are in the system, you get the same message when deleting an item: "Delete this record?"

It would be nice if this alert actually indicated what record you were deleting.


----- Original Message ----
From: Patrick <pbparker@...>
To: vantage@yahoogroups.com
Sent: Wednesday, November 28, 2007 10:01:18 AM
Subject: [Vantage] Re: Vantage 8 Trapping Delete


We would be interested in the same functionality as well. I would even
like to be able to disallow the deletion of quotes via security but
there doesn't appear to be any method of doing that.

--- In vantage@yahoogroups .com, "lindalowney" <llowney@... > wrote:
>
> Hi Group,
>
> I'm hoping someone here can help me with a little customization. I
> want to be able to trap the delete action and abort it, if
> necessary.
>
> In quote entry, people keep deleting the whole quote when they only
> want to delete a single line. The problem is that they will see the
> line details on the screen so they will press the delete button, but
> on the tree view on the left side of the screen the blue highlight
> will actually be on the quote number. The message is the same
> whether you are deleting a single line or the whole quote. I've
> told them to watch the left side of the screen, but I guess they get
> in a hurry and forget.
>
> I want to be able to display a message telling the user whether they
> are deleting a line or a quote and ask them to confirm the
> deletion. I want to be able to abort the deletion, if necessary.
>
> Linda Lowney
> Pride Signs
> 519-220-0505
>





____________________________________________________________________________________
Be a better sports nut! Let your teams follow you
with Yahoo Mobile. Try it now. http://mobile.yahoo.com/sports;_ylt=At9_qDKvtAbMuh1G1SQtBI7ntAcJ

[Non-text portions of this message have been removed]
Hi Group,

I'm hoping someone here can help me with a little customization. I
want to be able to trap the delete action and abort it, if
necessary.

In quote entry, people keep deleting the whole quote when they only
want to delete a single line. The problem is that they will see the
line details on the screen so they will press the delete button, but
on the tree view on the left side of the screen the blue highlight
will actually be on the quote number. The message is the same
whether you are deleting a single line or the whole quote. I've
told them to watch the left side of the screen, but I guess they get
in a hurry and forget.

I want to be able to display a message telling the user whether they
are deleting a line or a quote and ask them to confirm the
deletion. I want to be able to abort the deletion, if necessary.

Linda Lowney
Pride Signs
519-220-0505
We would be interested in the same functionality as well. I would even
like to be able to disallow the deletion of quotes via security but
there doesn't appear to be any method of doing that.


--- In vantage@yahoogroups.com, "lindalowney" <llowney@...> wrote:
>
> Hi Group,
>
> I'm hoping someone here can help me with a little customization. I
> want to be able to trap the delete action and abort it, if
> necessary.
>
> In quote entry, people keep deleting the whole quote when they only
> want to delete a single line. The problem is that they will see the
> line details on the screen so they will press the delete button, but
> on the tree view on the left side of the screen the blue highlight
> will actually be on the quote number. The message is the same
> whether you are deleting a single line or the whole quote. I've
> told them to watch the left side of the screen, but I guess they get
> in a hurry and forget.
>
> I want to be able to display a message telling the user whether they
> are deleting a line or a quote and ask them to confirm the
> deletion. I want to be able to abort the deletion, if necessary.
>
> Linda Lowney
> Pride Signs
> 519-220-0505
>