E10 Requirements

Hello to my favorite Epicor group! So we are working with a consultant ramping up to our E10 upgrade. We have an all new virtualized environment with very very decent hardware. Please don’t ask me the details of it because I truly was not involved in it as I am an Epicor developer. Anyhow, our consultant was checking performance prior to installing SQL and Epicor and such. They are saying that we HAVE to hit a latency of a maximum of 5 milliseconds! They say this is a requirement of Epicor 10. This sounds absolutely ridiculous to us without spending $100k on all new hardware.
Can anyone shed some light on this for me? Any experience with this? What is your latency and how is your E10 performance?

Thanks,
Chris

I think there is a hardware sizing guide available on the EpicWeb, that’s where I’d start.

1 Like

A latency on what aspect?
There is network latency, transmision, propagation, wan, audio, io, operating latency between input and command execution, there’s a lotta “latency”… sounds to me like your consultant is blowing smoke … :poop:

How many users? Db on same server as AppServer? and yes we need the specs… (i know you said don’t ask but we can’t help if we don’t know what you are working with)

Are you using a SAN?

1 Like

Hardware Sizing Guide: Sign In

And just curious … Does this Consultant sell hardware? :wink:

EDIT:

P.S. the word “latency” appears 26 times in that doc. The following is repeated for user loads of: 15, 50, and 200

3 Likes

Thank you. I’m getting those details. Separate app server and DB server. Yes on San. The latency they are speaking up is the disc IO on the DB server cannot be more than 5 ms.

First thing first. Are you deploying Epicor on virtual servers? If not, a single box can do the trick and you don’t need to separate the application server and DB server.

Secondo, a SAN is not required for small or medium deployment. Local SSD (flash) disks will be sufficient.