How do you keep track of your changes/customizations to Epicor?

I have been acting as the Epicor admin for my company for a few years and was recently asked to start recording any changes I make like ud fields, customizations or BPMs.

Does anyone already do this? What software do you use and how specific are you with the details?

Hi Yelena,

Our method isn’t too elegant, but it’s worked for multiple developers in system. We have a list of SCRs held in Excel sheet and available read-only for all users in system. All users must submit an SCR form, approved by a manager to request system changes (e.g., dashboard requests, report request, customization requests, bulk data audits/change requests, etc). Developer makes notes on SCR form and saves it in submitted SCRs folder. Users may look at Excel list to see status of their SCR.

Then we have Excel workbooks, one for UDtable field assignments and then one for Non UD table field assignments. All mapping is noted and developer initials and dates each field used. This ensures we do not crush eachother’s use of a field. It wouldn’t be a bad idea to have SCRs listed here too, but we haven’t done it to date.

Finally, at the beginning of each customization, we comment code to note with a revision designation, i.e., *******Rev1 NH 3/13/2018 SCR218: provided UD field for Freight Cost. ********etc.
Also, in crystal reports we have a comments field in Formulas to note changes, date, initials, SCR.
Also, our BPMs are given group names that are based on SCR and brief description. e.g. SCR398-EnsureSODatesComplete.

I am sure there are more elegant methods. However, this has worked fairly well to leave a nice trail of breadcrumbs for developers. We also get financial audits that address our use of system change control annually and our method has proved acceptable.

Nancy

2 Likes

Dear Nancy,