In defense of Epicor ERP's accounting system (please)

Where I work, I am getting a lot of hostile questions about the accounting system in Epicor ERP (10.2.600 currently).

1. Why don’t transactions post instantly?
  2. What is with the maddening hierarchy?
  3. What do you MEAN there is no subledger for inventory?! (Re: Stock Status Report gripes)

And others that branch off of #1 mostly, like “Why do I have to run the Inv-WIP-Recon report AND a GL report and combine the two just to see what hit the Travel Expenses account in October?” (Since we are in October now.)

Corporate uses Dynamics (not 365 or NAV or any of those; just the simple version) and no one there understands Epicor accounting at all except what they need to know.

I’d like to rebut these complaints, but I am not experienced enough. I was pulled from obscurity five years ago to run Epicor here and that was my first experience with an ERP system.

How do you all answer these questions? Do the other big ERPs behave like this or are they “not this bad”? Or more likely, what are the advantages to these supposed flaws?

Thanks for the input.

3 Likes

From my past life in consulting i heard quite a few complaints about the reporting side of finance. Lots of complaints about stock reports and lack of visibility. While Epicor does there best to keep the system to be generic and wide reaching as possible, people can particular about their data. Finance departments tend to like using XL Connect or FastClose to give them some additional flexibility.

I am by no means a finance guy, so all of the complaints could have gone unwarranted. In my experience it just required a little extra tweaking

@JasonMcD

I understand the concerns, a lot of this stems from Epicor being very flexible.