Upgrade from E9.05.702A to 10.1.400.0

Our current setup is as follows:

E9.05.702A

• Windows Server 208 R2 Enterprise
  • 32 Core Xeon E5-2680
  • 32GB Ram
  • OpenEdge Progress Database is on its own drive - Database itself is rougly 15 gigs

E10.1.400.0

• Windows Server 2012 R2 Standard
  • 16 Core Xeon
  • 32GB Ram
  • MS SQL Server 2014 - also on its own drive

I am fairly new to Epicor, as I have not used it before joining my current company. We are in the process of planning our E10 migration, and I have been looking at the process of migrating from the E9 Progress DB to MS SQL. I came across the “Migrate Epicor Database” option in the E10 Administration Console, and thought I’d give it a shot.

I opened up the wizard for migrating the database, and pointed it towards my test db on the E9 server, set up the SQL options properly, increased the thread-count to match my CPU core count, and sent it on its way. It has now been running for 6 hours, and I am unsure of what is going on (if anything). It is still on the 1st step (Task ID 10 - OpenEdgeMigration). The log window has 3020 lines in it, which contain "Starting this… " and “Completed that…”, as shown below:

• ProgressToSQL - Completed AC_Segment
  • ProgressToSQL - Starting AC_SegmentType…
  • ProgressToSQL - Completed ForecstDtl
  • ProgressToSQL - Starting FSAssetClass…
  • ProgressToSQL - Completed _SEQT_ABTAmountSeq
  • ProgressToSQL - Starting _SEQT_ABTDocLineSeq…

It has “Started” 1503 individual ‘things’ (tables in the db, I presume), and only finished 1499 of them. The 4 that are still working or have stalled are: (they have a “Started…” entry, but no “Compled …” entry in the log window)

• Memo
  • TranGLC
  • GLJrnDtl
  • APInvExp

The files in “C:\Program Files (x86)\Common Files\Epicor Software\Database Manager Extensions\3.1.400\DB Migration\Progress Output” on the E10 server have not changed in size in the past 3 hours. There are 24 files in that folder that total 18.4 GB.