BPM ABL Question

Hello,

I am new with ABL so please forgive me if I am missing something basic here.

I am attempting to create a BPM that pops up a warning box on on the order entry screen if there are open credit memos on the user account. Below is the code so far, but I am having trouble referencing the InvcHead table using fields not declared in the “find first” statement.

I suspect that I am doing something out of order. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

InvcHead.OpenInvoice = 1

Instead you should should be looking for a true or false

InvcHead.OpenInvoice = true
2 Likes

Your warning box is more of a notification box as it won’t stop the records from updating, but the syntax looks right if that’s what you’re going for! Keep in mind though that some characters will cause errors in the code if included within the InfoMsg (I believe commas are one example). Also, here’s one example if you want to include a field value in the message as well:

{lib\PublishInfoMsg.i &InfoMsg = “'The MtlPartNum field value is: ’ + PartMtl.MtlPartNum”}.

Thanks Dan and Kevin, both of your comments were helpful.

I think the overall intent of my BPM is to create a notice if there is a credit on the account. My IF statement, does not connect to a specific invoice. I am trying to create the info message if there is a credit memo on the account. I believe I need to have a BAQ that will sum the open invoices. I mocked up the query using SQL. Is it possible to write a query to aggergate the InvoiceHed data inside of the BPM?

I wrote the above in t-sql. I assume the same could be done with a BAQ.

I assume an invoice goes from Open to Not Open when cash receipts are applied against it.

What causes a credit memo to become Not Open?

Hi Calvin,