How do I get MRP to ignore parts that are in DMR?

I’m new to using MRP so this may be obvious/impossible. When I run MRP I will see suggestions to buy parts that have been non-conformed and are then technically taken out of inventory until we make decision on what to do with the part. A lot of the time we will decide to use the part or rework the part so it goes right back into inventory at that point. I want to know if there is a way to tell MRP not to show me a suggestion to buy a non-conformed part until there’s an action for me to take such as return to vendor or rework. A different question might also be are we using DMR the right way? Is there a way to non-conform a part without it actually leaving inventory right away?

1 Like

“Nonconformance” means that someone has decided that this particular item is questionable, and needs to be looked at by a Higher Authority to either say that it isn’t, or what needs to be done to fix it. Until the Higher Authority has given its blessing, that part cannot be used for any other purpose… so it has to come out of inventory.

By that same standard, MRP looks at stock on hand (inventory quantity) to make suggestions. Since Nonconformed stuff is not in inventory, it is not considered.

Although it is probably possible to make MRP consider Nonconformance parts, doing so is likely to either slow the MRP process significantly or (more likely) crash it altogether. Neither is a good option.

If a LARGE percentage of your nonconformed items are put directly back into stock, then perhaps some folks need training on what should and should not be considered nonconforming.

What group is asking for this? Purchasing? Production? Quality? Finance? What problem are they trying to solve?

2 Likes